BEFORE THE ARKANSAS SECURITIES COMMISSIONER

IN THE MATTER OF

ARKANSAS FAIR MORTGAGE ORDER NO. _C-08-068-08-OR01
LENDING ACT, ARK CODE ANN.

§§ 23-39-517(a) through (c),

and §§ 23-39-518(a) through (e)

ORDER PRESCRIBING REGISTRATION
MODIFICATIONS NECESSARY FOR TRANSITION
TO THE NATIONWIDE MORTGAGE LICENSING SYSTEM

This Order is entered for the purpose of prescribing registration modifications necessary
for transition to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (“NMLS”) pursuant to the authority
granted to the Arkansas Securities Commissioner (“Commissioner”) by Act 748 of 2007,
codified at Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-39-518(a) through (e). In accordance with the referenced
sections, the Commissioner hereby finds, concludes, and orders, that:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Act 748 of 2007 authofizes the Commissioner to enter into an agreement whereby all
persons making application for a license or renewing a license in Arkansas under the Fair
Mortgage Lending Act (“FMLA”) Ark. Code Ann. §§ 23-39-501 through 23-39-518, will do so
through the NMLS, an automated licensing system that allows state-licensed mortgage brokers,
mortgage bankers, mortgage servicers, or loaﬁ officers to apply for, amend, update, or renew a
license online for all participating state agencies using a single set of uniform applications.

2. The Commissioner has exercised the authority granted by Act 748 of 2007, and entered
into an agreement with the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and the American Association
of Residential Mortgage Regulators to participate in the uniform licensing initiative, known as
the NMLS. The Arkansas Securities Department (“ASD”) will transition to the NMLS system

effective November 1, 2008.



3. Act 748 of 2007 further authorized the Commissioner to waive or modify certain
requirements of the FMLA by rule or order that are necessary to implement a transition to the
NMLS. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-29-518(a)(2). Likewise, Act 748 of 2007 authorized the
Commissioner to establish new requirements to facilitate the transition to the NMLS. Ark. Code
Ann. § 23-39-518(a)(3). This Order is entered for those purposes.

4. The Commissioner has identified certain licensing requirements contained within the
FMLA that must be modified or waived to effectuate a smooth transition for Arkansas licensees
to the NMLS. The identified modifications should become effective during the transition period,
which begins on November 1, 2008, and ends on December 31, 2008. The modifications should
remain in full force and effect until amended or modified by statute, rule or order. It has been
determined that the following modifications are necessary to implement a transition to the
NMLS in a timely manner:

(a) Submission of Initial Applications for Licensure, Annual Renewal Applications,

Fees, and Related Filings to the NMLS.

Currently, the FMLA requires that any person desiring to obtain a license as a loan
officer, mortgage broker, mortgage banker or mortgage servicer make written application
to the Commissioner in the form prescribed by the Commissioner. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-
39-505(a)(1). Among other requirements, the application must be accompanied by a
filing fee of seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) for licensure as a mortgage broker,
mortgage banker, or mortgage servicer, or fifty dollars ($50.00) for licensure as a loan
officer. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-39-505(¢). Similarly, a mortgage broker, mortgage banker,
or mortgage servicer desiring to renew a license must file a renewal application with the
Commissioner in the form prescribed by the Commissioner within a specified time frame.

Ark. Code Ann. § 23-39-506(a)(1)(A). Among other requirements, the renewal
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application must be accompanied by an annual renewal fee of three hundred fifty dollars
($350) for the licensee’s principal office and one hundred dollars ($100) for each of the
licensee’s branch offices. The present FMLA Form 001 requires the applicant to
designate its license type or license types, those being “mortgage broker”, “mortgage
banker”,” mortgage servicer”, or any combination thereof. Designation of the license
type or license types is achieved by checking the appropriate box or boxes. Loan officers
must also file renewal applications with the Commissioner on a form prescribed by the
Commissioner, accompanied with an annual renewal fee of fifty dollars ($50.00). Ark.
Code Ann. §§ 23-39-506(c)(1) and (c)(3). The Commissioner has entered into an
arrangement whereby all initial and renewal registration filings will be made directly
through the NMLS, pursuant to authority granted by Act 748 of 2007,.codiﬁed at Ark.
Code Ann. § 23-39-518, (a)(1) and (c)(1). For this reason, it is necessary to modify the
FMLA registration requirements to require that all filings and fees, except those
specifically noted herein, be filed through NMLS, effective November 1, 2008. At that
time, all filings, except those filings that contain an instruction to send directly to the
ASD, must be transmitted electronically to the NMLS. Likewise, all fees, except late
fees, must be transmitted electronically to the NMLS. Any late fees assessed should
continue to be tendered directly to the ASD. An applicant or licensee will be required to
designate its license type or license types through the NMLS form. The NMLS form will
permit applicants or licensees desiring to apply for or renew more than one license as a
mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage servicer, to designate each license type
within a combination filing.

(b) Mortgage Broker, Mortgage Banker, and Mortgage Servicer Renewal

Applications Due Dates.




Currently, a mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage servicer desiring to renew a
license in Arkansas must file a renewal application with the Commissioner within one
hundred and twenty (120) days after the end of the licensee’s fiscal year. Ark. Code Ann.
§ 23-39-506(a)(1)(A). Act 748 of 2007 established a uniform expiration date of
December 31, for all FMLA licenses issued in Arkansas, effective January 1, 2008. Ark.
Code Ann. § 23-39-517(a). In light of the language regarding license expiration dates
contained within Act 748 of 2007, and the Commissioner’s agreement to participate in
the uniform licensing initiative of thé NMLS, all mortgage brokers, mortgage bankers, or
mortgage servicers wishing to renew a license in Arkansas should file an application with
the NMLS between November 1, 2008, and December 31, 2008.

(©) Mortgage Banker and Mortgage Servicer Audited Financial Statements.

Currently, all mortgage bankers and mortgage servicers must submit an audited financial
statement prepared in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-39-505(g)(1)(A)through
(g)(1)(D) at the time a renewal application is submitted. During the transition period,
audited financial statements should be submitted directly to the ASD or through the
NMLS. The audited financial statements should be submitted within ninety (90) days of
the end of the mortgage banker’s or mortgage servicer’s fiscal year. For most mortgage
bankers and mortgage servicers, audited financial statements will no longer be submitted
at the time of license renewal, as the due date for the audited financial statements will fall
outside the renewal time period.

(d) Mortgage Broker Financial Statements.

Currently, a mortgage broker must submit a financial statement with its renewal
application, which is filed with the Commissioner within one hundred and twenty (120)

days after the end of the licensee’s fiscal year in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-



39-506(a)(1)(C). During the transition period, mortgage broker financial statements
should be submitted directly to the ASD or through the NMLS. The financial statements
should be submitted within ninety (90) days of the end of the mortgage broker’s fiscal
year. For most mortgage brokers, the financial statements will no longer be submitted at
the time of renewal, as the due date for the financial statements will fall outside the
renewal time period.

(e) Mortgage Broker, Mortgage Banker, and Mortgage Servicer Renewal

Applications Late Fees.

Currently, a renewal applicativon for mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage
servicer that is not filed withiﬁ one hundred and twenty (120) days of the end of the
licensee’s fiscal year is subject to a late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each day,
up to a maximum of sixty (60) days, that the application is late. Ark. Code Ann. § 23-39-
506(b). During the transition period, mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage
servicer licenses should be considered expired if not filed by December 31, 2008.
Renewal applications submitted between January 1, 2009, and February 28, 2009, should
be subject to a late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each day that the renewal
application is late, up to a maximum of sixty (60) days. Mortgage broker, mortgage
banker, or mortgage servicer licenses for which no renewal application has been
submitted by February 28, 2009, should be deemed abandoned and surrendered, pursuant
to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-39-506(e)(2)(A).

® Loan Officer Renewal Applications.

Currently, each loan officer wishing to renew a license shall file a renewal application
with the Commissioner no later than sixty (60) days prior to the expifation date of the

license. Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 23-39-517(a), all Arkansas loan officer licenses



will expire on December 31, 2008. During the transition period, all loan officer renewal
applications should be filed with the NMLS between November 1, 2008, and December
31, 2008.

(2) Loan Officer Renewal Applications Late Fees.

Currently, the failure of a loan officer to file a renewal application within sixty days prior
to the expiration date of a loan officer license will subject the loan officer to a late fee of
fifty dollars ($50.00). During the transition period, the failure of a loan officer to file a
renewal application between November 1, 2008, and December 31, 2008, should subject
the loan officer to a late fee of fifty dollars (§50.00). The late fee should be applicable to
loan officer renewal applications submitted between January 1, 2009, and February 28,
2009. Loan officer licenses for which no renewal application has been submitted by
February 28, 2009, should be deemed abandoned and surrendered, pursuant to Ark. Code
Ann. § 23-39-506(e)(2)(A).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

5. The Commissioner may enter into an arrangement, agreement, or other working
relationship with federal, state, or self-regulatory authorities, the Conference of State Bank
Supervisors, or a subsidiary of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors to file and maintain
documents in a multistate automated licensing system or other central depository system. Ark.
Code Ann. 23-39-518(a)(1).

6. The Commissioner may waive or modify, in whole or in part, by rule or by order, any
requirement of the FMLA if necessary to implement the Commissioner’s arrangement to
participate in the multistate automated licensing system or other central depository system. Ark.

Code Ann. 23-39-518(a)(2).



7. The Commissioner may establish new requirements under the FMLA to carry out the
Commissioner’s arrangement to participate in the multistate automated licensing system or other
central depository system. Ark. Code Ann. 23-39-518(2)(3).
ORDER
8. Pursuant to the authority granted to the Commissioner by Act 748 of 2007, the
Commissioner hereby orders the following registration modifications applicable to all Arkansas
FMLA licensees to become effective during the period of transition to the NMLS, beginning on
November 1, 2008 and ending on December 31, 2008. These registration modifications shall
remain in full force and effect until such time as they are amended or modified by statute, rule, or
order:
(a) Except those filings and fees specifically noted in Paragraph 4 hereinabove, all
applications for initial licensure in Arkansas as mortgage brokers, mortgage bankers,
mortgage servicers, or loan officers, renewal applications, and related filings, shall be
submitted directly through the NMLS effective November 1, 2008.
(b) Mortgage bankers and mortgage servicers must file audited financial statements
directly with the ASD or through the NMLS within ninety (90) days of the end of the
mortgage banker’s or mortgage servicer’s fiscal year.
(c) Mortgage brokers must file a financial statement directly with the ASD or through
the NMLS within ninety (90) days of the end of the mortgage broker’s fiscal year.
(d) During the transition period, mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage
servicer renewal applications shall be filed between November 1, 2008, and December
31, 2008. Mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage servicer licenses for which no
renewal application has been submitted by December 31, 2008, shall be considered

expired. Mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or mortgage servicer license renewal



applications submitted between January 1, 2008 and February 28, 2009, shall be subject
to a late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each day that the renewal application is
late, up to a maximum of sixty (60) days. Mortgage broker, mortgage banker, or
mortgage servicer licenses for which no renewal application has been submitted by
February 28, 2009, shall be deemed abandoned and surrendered.

(e) During the transition period, all loan officer renewal applications shall be filed
between November 1, 2008, and December 31, 2008. All loan officer licenses for which
no renewal application is submitted by December 31, 2008, shall be considered expired.
Loan officer renewal applications submitted between January 1, 2009, and February 28,
2009, shall be subject to a late fee of fifty dollars ($50.00). All loan officer licenses for
which no renewal application has been submitted by February 28, 2009, shall be deemed

abandoned and surrendered.

IT IS SO ORDERED. / o i ,

A. Heath Abshure
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